26th January 2012 Berlin awards a prize to San Marino

San Marino, Berlin and return. It is neither the title of a film and nor the foresight of a feasible journey. The first weekend of February San Marino will be the protagonist, during the most important numismatic event of the year: the World Money Fair 2012. It is an event that every year involves fans, professionals, authorities from all over the world and national banks. Medals, tokens, historical banknotes, shares and bonds, from classic to modern. During the Berlin event, the Krause Publications, one of the main collector book editors, will announce the winners of the “2012 Coin of the Year Awards”. The prestigious review, based in Iola, Wisconsin, instituted the award availing of a jury made of authors, editors, numismatists and members of the American Numismatic Association, and last October selected the coins in nomination, chosen among hundreds from all the nations. The coins, issued in 2010, have been estimated from an International jury of experts and journalists. Ten categories were awarded. The Republic of San Marino won the “Best Trade Coin” with the 2 Euro commemorative coin 2010 – uncirculated – dedicated “500th Anniversary of the death of Sandro Botticelli”, depicting on the obverse side the Voluptas, a detail of one of three dancing Graces, liberally inspired by the painting, La Primavera by Sandro Botticelli, which located in the Uffizi Gallery in Florence. The coin is completed by the caption “SAN MARINO”, the year 2010, the symbol “m” of the artist, Roberto Mauri, and the symbol “R” of the Italian Mint which was responsible for the coinage. On the reverse of the coin is the common side used for all the European countries. Poland, United States, Argentina, Denmark, Japan, Lithuania, Venezuela, India and Australia were the other competitors. The Azienda Autonoma di Stato Filatelica e Numismatica will collect the prestigious award on the 4th of February during the World Money Fair 2012.